Jul 17, 2022

Halestorm / The Pretty Reckless / The Warning - Pier Six

Category: Live Reviews



Pier Six

Baltimore, Maryland

 THE WARNING Set List:  Dust to Dust, Z, Q of The Murder Scene, Choke, Money, Enter Sandman (Metallica cover), Error, Disciple, Evolve

 THE PRETTY RECKLESS Set List:  Loud Love (Soundgarden cover), Since You’re Gone, Only Love Can Save Me Now, Death By Rock N Roll, And So It Went, Make Me Wanna Die, Witches Burn, Harley Darling, Going To Hell, Heaven Knows, Take Me Down

 HALESTORM Set List:  Back From The Dead, Love Bites, Wicked Ways, Mz. Hyde, Psycho Crazy, Do Not Disturb, Terrible Things, Break In, Raise Your Horns (Lzzy on Piano), Strange Girl, Drum Solo, I Miss The Misery, I Get Off, I Am The Fire, ENCORE:  Here’s To Us, Freak Like Me, The Steeple


Covid took away two very long years from the world and this particular show was the first to make the Baltimore, Maryland area feel like it was truly back from the dead.  The nearly sold out crowd devoured every ounce of music and energy each band delivered onstage and this multi band bill offered an interesting assortment of female  fronted rock acts.

 The Warning formed in 2013 and are a Mexican rock band that features 3 sisters: 

Daniela Villarreal - guitar/vocals

Paulina Villarreal - drums/vocals

Alejandra Villarreal - bass/vocals

The band recorded their first EP “Escape The Mind” in 2015 by setting up a GoFundMe campaign.  In April 2015 the band appeared on the Ellen Degeneres show and Degeneres along with retailer Target donated money to the girls so they could attend a five week training program at the Berklee College of Music.


In 2017 the bands first full length record, “XXI Century Blood” was released.    Their second album “Queen of the Murder Scene” was released in 2018.

 In 2020 the band signed a five album deal with Lava RecordsThe Warning contributed a cover of “Enter Sandman” to the Metallica Blacklist record.  

 October 2021 saw the band release a six song EP titled “Mayday”.

 June 2022 the band released a full length record titled “Error” which featured 8 new songs alongside the tracks from the “Mayday” EP.

 The Warning took the stage at 6:50 PM and their set was totally wrapped up by 7:30 PM.  Fans of the band knew every word to their songs and the chatter amongst the crowd once their set ended was how impressive they were and once their set was over they definitely sold shirts and cds.


The Pretty Reckless took the stage around 8 PM and this band has truly grown and developed since their inception in 2009.

 The Pretty Reckless has maintained the same line up since the beginning:

Taylor Momsen: vocals

Ben Phillips:  guitar

Mark Damon:  bass

Jamie Perkins:  drums

 Taylor Momsen was initially known for her role on the TV show “Gossip Girl”; she won over fans by delivering strong, sexually charged performances which proved she was more than a pretty face on the big screen.  Taylor can hold her own with the boys in the band, she’s not afraid to sweat it out onstage and she has definitely grown as a performer.

 Guitarist Ben Phillips is the band leader and on this night he sweat like a hooker in church.  Midway through the set Ben told his tech to bring out a new guitar because his main guitar was soaked in sweat and he wanted a dry one.

The Pretty Reckless have a flawless rhythm section and their tightness hold each song together.

 The heat and humidity were intense on this evening and there wasn’t one person either on or off stage not perspiring.  

 The Pretty Reckless opened their set with a cover of “Loud Love” by Soundgarden which ironically went into “Since You’re Gone”.  This was followed up by “Only Love Can Save Me Now”.  All three songs  are tributes to Chris Cornell who Momsen sites as a major influence.

 “Make Me Wanna Die” was the oldest song performed in their set and it’s interesting to hear how the band’s sound has grown since this song came out.

 “Heaven Knows” and “Take Me Down” closed out the bands short but sweet set.  The Pretty Reckless are a headline act on their own and their set was strong, powerful, and received a lot of crowd reaction/interaction.

Halestorm were the nights main attraction and Lzzy and company brought the fire when they took the stage!

 The bands stage set up was pure old school arena rock with walk up riser steps, the drum kit sat high above the band and the main floor was open so Lzzy, Joe and Josh could run around and interact with the crowd.

 Opening with the title track from their latest release, “Back From The Dead”, Halestorm delivered an amazing arena rock show and the set list read like a book with an interesting mix of new and old tracks throughout their set.  The band closed the show with their current single, “The Steeple”.

 Halestorm change their set every night and Lzzy still tosses out the “Love Letter” during this tour.  When she tossed it this night the package hit the floor and the attached guitar pick went in a different direction than the letter.

 Each member of Halestorm bring their own energy and vibe to the stage.  Lzzy is a pure ham, her energy, enthusiasm, and attitude guide the Halestorm show.  Joe Hottinger is a seriously underrated guitarist and both he and Lzzy have an amazing collection of rare Gibson guitars.  Bassist Josh Smith is an unassuming character until he has a bass in his hands; Josh holds down the low end while drummer Arejay Hale is the bands secret weapon. Arejay is a beast behind the drum kit and at the end of their set Aerjay took a handful of drum sticks along with a sharpie and autographed drumsticks and set lists as he tossed them out to the crowd.

 Lzzy told the crowd that earlier in the day she walked through Baltimore and memories came rushing back to her of nights where the band cut their teeth performing in Maryland.  Lzzy joked that there were often times that she had also gotten drunk in bars there and she may or may not have been of legal drinking age.  She thanked Maryland for always supporting the band and all four members of Halestorm were clearly humble and appreciative for all of the support Maryland music fans gave the band over the years.

Author: Bob Suehs